Provinces Choose Leaders

Jocelyn Thomas Franciscan World

Over the last two months, new leaders were elected at many of the provinces of the English-speaking Conference. One — Our Lady of Guadalupe — chose a new provincial minister. Fr. Jack Clark Robinson, OFM, was elected to lead the Southwest-based province, which held its chapter from June 1 to 6 in Mesilla Park, N.M.

The weeklong gathering was presided over by Fr. Thomas Luczak, OFM, of Assumption Province, who, according to the June 2014 issue of The Padres Trail newsletter, “excellently served as General Visitor.” Other friars elected as leaders of OLG Province were Fr. Charlie Martinez, OFM, provincial vicar, and the following were elected as provincial councilors: Fathers Eduardo Espinoza, OFM, Jose Rodriguez, OFM, Dale Jamison, OFM, and Abel Olivas, OFM.

The other provinces all reelected their provincial ministers and vicars and chose new councils.

Around the Country
Assumption BVM Province, which held its chapter the week of June 9, elected councilors were Br. Andrew Brophy, OFM, Fathers Paul Reczek, OFM, Joachim Studwell, and Edward Tlucek, OFM. The Wisconsin-based province’s incumbent provincial minister and vicar are Fr. John Puodziunas, OFM, and Fr. James Gannon, OFM.

Sacred Heart Province held its chapter the same week, in St. Louis, and elected as provincial council members Fathers Jerry Bleem, OFM, Frank Coens, OFM, John Dombroski, OFM, John Eaton,  Albert Merz, OFM, and  Ralph Parthie, OFM. The provincial minister and vicar of the Missouri-based province are incumbents Fr. William Spencer, OFM, and Fr. Michael Jennrich, OFM.

St. John the Baptist Province held its chapter in May, with Fr. Francisco Ó Conaire, OFM, an Irish friar of the El Salvador Province, serving as general visitor, and reelected Fathers Jeffrey Scheeler, OFM, and Frank Jasper, OFM, as provincial minister and vicar respectively. The Ohio-based community chose as its provincial councilors the following:  Fr. Mark Soehner, OFM, Br. Vince Delorenzo, OFM, Fr. Alex Kratz, OFM, and Fr. Page Polk, OFM. Photos of the gathering were published in the June 5 issue of SJB News Notes as well as on the St. John the Baptist Facebook page.

Two provinces held gatherings that did not include elections.

St. Barbara Province, based in California, held its gathering in March in Oceanside. Immaculate Conception Province held an Extraordinary Chapter, June 23 to 25 at which the proposal was its only order of business. The chapter was facilitated by Fr. Gearoid Francisco O’Conaire, OFM.

Outside the United States
In Ireland, the names of friars elected on July 1 as members of the provincial council of the Province of Ireland were announced. They are Fr. Liam Kelly, OFM, Br. Patrick Lynch, OFM, Fr. Padraig Breheny, OFM; and Fr. Patrick Younge, OFM.

In Montreal, Canada, members of the Province of St. Joseph of Eastern Canada re-elected Fr. Marc LeGoanvec, OFM, at their chapter in May. Elected provincial vicar was Fr. Pierre Charland, OFM, and as councilors: Fathers Henri Éthier, OFM, Guylain Prince, OFM, Laurent Gallant, OFM, and Aimé Dô Van Thông, OFM.

Information about the provinces of the English-speaking Conference can be found on the ESC website, launched last year.

— Jocelyn Thomas, director of communications for Holy Name Province, is chair of the English-speaking Conference Communicators Committee.