Frank Sevola Newly Elected to SBU Board of Trustees

HNP Communications Features

ALLEGANY, N.Y. – Two friars were elected to the board of trustees of St. Bonaventure University. Frank Sevola was elected to a three-year term, and Thomas Gallagher was re-elected to a three-year term. Daniel Dwyer was elected to be secretary of the board for the next year.

Also elected to the board for a three-year term: James Cattano, president, Primary Resources, Inc.; Daniel Collins, vice president of Corporate Communications, Corning Incorporated; Thomas Hook, president and chief operating officer, Greatbatch Technologies, Inc.; Robert King, vice president, AdviStor, Inc.; and Vincent Volpe, Jr., president and chief executive officer, Dresser-Rand Company.

In addition to Tom Gallagher, the following trustees were re-elected for a three-year term: Raymond Dee, Deborah Henretta, Richard Kearns, Thomas Marra, John McGinley Jr., and Leslie C. Quick III.

The following were elected officers of the board for a one-year term: John McGinley Jr., chair; and John McCormack Jr., vice chair.

The board received a report from Dr. Patrick Casey, chair of the faculty senate, on an overview of this year’s activities of the faculty senate and reported on a recent faculty referendum concerning changes to the Faculty Status and Welfare Handbook.

The board had an opportunity to meet Ombuds Officer Bernard Brodsky and interview him concerning the activities of his office, which was established in the fall of 2005.

The board endorsed a plan to extend the deadline for final 2006-07 budget approval one month, until mid-July.

COR Development Inc. has been given a one-year extension by the board to develop the former Castle Restaurant property.

The board heard and offered a proposal addressing the revitalization of enrollment management and marketing given by David W. Black, vice president of Paskill Stapleton & Lord, a marketing strategies firm.

The entire St. Bonaventure community was invited to celebrate with Sister Margaret Carney, university president, and the board of trustees the lives of Francis Storms, Olive Bray, Louis Eckelman, Ann Keenan, Regina Quick and Fred Manning at a Memorial Mass on June 16 in the university chapel.

The board meeting concluded with an executive session during which the members evaluated their own progress toward their governance goals and their annual evaluation of the president.