Archbishop of San Juan Ordains New Deacons

HNP Communications Around the Province

WASHINGTON, D.C.  —  Roberto Gonzalez Nieves, OFM, archbishop of San Juan,  Puerto Rico, presided at a Eucharistic liturgy at the Washington Theological Union on Saturday during which he ordained five friars – Scott Brookbank, Zachary Elliott, Julian Jagudilla, Gonzalo de Jesus Torres-Acosta, OFM, and Christopher VanHaight, OFM,  to the order of diaconate.

Provincial Minister John O’Connor, OFM, Provincial Vicar  Dominic Monti, OFM, and Francis Di Spigno, OFM,  director of post novitiate formation,  were present to attest to the diaconate candidates’ readiness for ordained ministry. Friars, family members and friends as well as religious from other communities in the Washington area witnessed the ceremony, held at the Connelly Chapel of Holy Wisdom on Sept. 22, was followed by a reception at Holy Name College, Silver Spring, Md.

The Provincial thanked the archbishop who took time out of his busy schedule to ordain the deacons, said Octavio Duran, OFM. John also took the opportunity to thank the formation team for the dedication and effort put into the formation of the friars.

Francis congratulated John on the occasion of his 30th anniversary of his ordination. A round of applause filled the recreation room where dessert and coffee were served.