Administration Announces New Officers, Guardians

Jocelyn Thomas In the Headlines

NEW YORK — The Provincial Administration has announced the names of friars who will lead close to 30 friaries and fill leadership roles throughout the Province for the next three years.

Details were sent to members of the Province through a letter from Provincial Minister Kevin Mullen, OFM, Provincial Vicar Lawrence Hayes, OFM, and the six members of the 2014 – 2017 Provincial Council. The newly appointed friar leaders were elected by the Council.

The following were chosen to lead Provincial offices that affect friar life. Their terms began last week.

Secretary of the Province Michael Harlan, OFM
Treasurer of the Province Dennis Wilson, OFM
Secretary of Evangelization Lawrence Hayes, OFM
Moderator of Missionary Evangelization  Paul O’Keeffe, OFM
Secretary of Formation and Studies Lawrence Hayes, OFM
Moderator of Ongoing Formation Robert Sandoz, OFM
Director of Vocations Basil Valente, OFM, with Gonzalo Torres, OFM, as associate director
Director of Postulants     Ronald Pecci, OFM
Director of Friars in Temporary Profession Anthony LoGalbo, OFM
Director of Development David Convertino, OFM

In addition, Fr. Ralph Parthie, OFM, of Sacred Heart Province, will continue as director of novices at the Interprovincial Novitiate in Burlington, Wis.

New Leaders
The announcement also included friars named to be guardians and pastors of HNP’s friaries and parishes for the next three years. Many of the friars have been reappointed to another term. The names of those who have been nominated to a first term as pastor are being submitted to dioceses for approval and are not yet official. The new leaders will assume their roles by Sept. 1. Friars will gradually move to their new locations over the summer, with the timeframes based on the mutual convenience of the friars involved.

Hartford — St. Patrick-St. Anthony Church-Friary
Guardian and pastor: Thomas Gallagher, OFM

Wilmington — St. Joseph’s Church
Pastor: Paul Williams, OFM

Wilmington — St. Paul Church-Friary
Guardian and pastor: Todd Carpenter, OFM

St. Petersburg — St. Anthony Friary
Guardian: Joseph Hertel, OFM

Tampa — Sacred Heart Church-Friary
Guardian and pastor: George Corrigan, OFM

Silver Spring — Holy Name College
Guardian: Anthony LoGalbo, OFM

Silver Spring — St. Camillus Church-Friary
Guardian: Jacek Orzechowski, OFM
Pastor: Michael Johnson, OFM

Boston — St. Anthony Shrine

Guardian: John Hogan, OFM
Executive director: Thomas Conway, OFM

New Jersey
Beach Haven — St. Francis of Assisi Church-Friary
Guardian and pastor: James Scullion, OFM

Butler — St. Anthony Church-Friary
Guardian and pastor: Robert Norton, OFM

Butler — St. Anthony Friary
Guardian: Robert Frazzetta, OFM

Camden — St. Anthony of Padua Church-Friary
Guardian and pastor: Hugh Macsherry, OFM

Paterson — St. Bonaventure Church-Friary 
Guardian and administrator: Stephen DeWitt, OFM

Pompton Lakes — St. Mary Church-Friary
Guardian and pastor: Frank Sevola, OFM

Ringwood — Holy Name Friary
Guardian: Richard McFeely, OFM

Wood-Ridge — Assumption Church-Friary
Guardian and pastor: Richard Mucowski, OFM

New York
Allegany — St. Bonaventure Church
Pastor: James Vacco, OFM

Buffalo — St. Clare Church
Pastor: Steven Pavignano, OFM

Buffalo — St. Patrick Friary
Guardian: Jud Weiksnar, OFM

Callicoon — Holy Cross Church
Pastor: Charles O’Connor, OFM

Loudonville — St. Bernardine of Siena Friary
Guardian: Mark Reamer, OFM

Narrowsburg — St. Francis Xavier Church
Pastor: William Scully, OFM

New York City — St. Francis of Assisi Church-Friary
Guardian: Xavier Seubert, OFM
Pastor: Andrew Reitz, OFM

New York City — Holy Name of Jesus Church-Friary 
Guardian and pastor: Lawrence Ford, OFM

St. Bonaventure — St. Bonaventure University Friary
Guardian: Francis Di Spigno, OFM

West Clarksville — Holy Peace Friary
Guardian: Kevin Kriso, OFM

North Carolina
Durham — Immaculate Conception Church

Guardian and pastor: Christopher VanHaight, OFM

Raleigh — St. Francis of Assisi Church-Friary
Guardian and pastor: Steven Patti, OFM

Philadelphia — Juniper Friary

Guardian: Michael Duffy, OFM

South Carolina
Anderson — St. Joseph Church-Friary
Guardian and pastor: Stephen Kluge, OFM

Anderson — St. Mary Church
Pastor: Aubrey McNeil, OFM

Clemson — St. Andrew’s Church 
Pastor: Daniel McLellan, OFM

Greenville — St. Anthony Church
Pastor: Patrick Tuttle, OFM

Triangle — St. Francis Church-Friary

Guardian: John O’Connor, OFM
Pastor: Kevin Downey, OFM

Friars serving in leadership positions at Provincial ministries outside the United States are:

Tokyo — Franciscan Chapel Center
Pastor: Russell Becker, OFM

Lima — Santa Ana Parish
Guardian and pastor: Anthony Wilson, OFM

A formal obedience letter will be sent to each friar of the Province by July 18, assigning him to a local fraternity.

Transition Reactions and Schedules
In the letter that accompanied the assignment list, the Administration said that friars responded to their new assignments with a variety of positive comments.

“We are pleased to tell you that among the responses we heard from your brothers were, ‘I am willing to do anything for the Province,’ and ‘I have never said no to the Province and I don’t intend to start now.’ Such goodwill and passion for fraternity and mission are inspiring,” said the Council.

The new Provincial Minister and Vicar are in the process of moving to the New York City office. Kevin will be at the Provincial Office full-time after August 4, when F. Edward Coughlin, OFM, begins his role as interim president of Siena College. Larry will be in the office beginning July 14.

Kevin, Larry and the Councilors were elected during the Provincial Chapter held earlier this month at Siena College, Loudonville. Their Provincial Councilors are William Beaudin, OFM, Brian Belanger, OFM, David Convertino, OFM, Fred Dilger, OFM, Robert Frazzetta, OFM, and Joseph Nangle, OFM.

The first meeting of the Provincial Council for the 2014 – 2017 term is scheduled for July 2.

— Jocelyn Thomas is communications director for Holy Name Province.